The Wisdom of Hypatia

Ancient Spiritual Practices
for a More Meaningful Life

Now Listed on Amazon, Powells, BooksAMillion, etc.

The Book

The Wisdom of Hypatia: Ancient Spiritual Practices for a More Meaningful Life, offers a progressive, nine-month program based on the teachings of this inspiring Pagan Neoplatonic philosopher. Discover how to bring purpose, tranquility, and spiritual depth to your life through exercises and techniques divided into three degrees of wisdom: Epicureanism, Stoicism, and Neoplatonism. This virtual course in philosophy, well-being, and divine union is an essential and practical introduction to the ancient wisdom of the West.

Please look at the Table of Contents below for additional information.

Paperback, 432 pages, Llewellyn, 2013

Table of Contents


Part I. Preliminaries

1.  Introduction

    An Ancient Path for Modern Times

    Three Degrees of Wisdom

    A Nine-month Program

    Hypatia, the Most Holy and Revered Philosopher

    Why Hypatia’s Philosophy is Important Today

2.  Spiritual Practices

    Philosophy as a Way of Life

    Concentrating Inward

    Expanding Outward

    Additional Practices

    Living Philosophically

3.  Sources for Hypatia’s Philosophy

    Pythagoras and Plato


    Porphyry and Iamblichus

    Hypatia’s Philosophy

    Later Neoplatonism

Part II. The First Degree of Wisdom

4.  Seeking Tranquility in the Garden

    Goals of the First Degree

    The Garden

    Atoms and the Void

    Classifying Desires




    Fear of the Gods

    Fear of Death

    The Fourfold Cure

    Live Hidden



    The Death of Epicurus

    Miscellaneous Maxims

Part III. The Second Degree of Wisdom

5.  The Discipline of Assent

    Goals of the Second Degree

    Historical Background

    Goals of Wisdom


    Human Nature

    Three Fundamental Disciplines

    The Discipline of Assent

    Practicing the Discipline of Assent

6.  The Discipline of Desire


    Desire, Impulse, and Nature

    Good, Evil, and Indifferent

    Circumscribing the Self

    Indifference to Misfortune

    Personal and Transpersonal Guides

    The View From Above

    Providence or Chaos?

    Consent to Destiny

    Universal Love

    The Stoic God

7.  The Discipline of Impulse


    Action and Nature

    Criterion I, First Standard: Altruism

    Criterion I, Second Standard: Difficult People

    Criterion I, Third Standard: Friends

    Criterion II: Worth and Justice

    Criterion III: Reservation

    Nature’s Sympathy

Part IV. The Third Degree of Wisdom

8.  The Macrocosm

    Introduction to the Third Degree

    The World Body

    The World Mind

    The Platonic Forms

    Being and Becoming

    Truth, Beauty, and Justice

    The World Soul

    Nature, Wisdom, and Daimons

    The Inexpressible One

    The God of the Philosophers

    Images of the Cosmos

    The Geocentric Image

    The Central Light

    The Golden Chain

9.  The Microcosm and the Archetypes

    Microcosm: The Tripartite Soul

    Polytheistic Pagan Interpretation

    Monotheistic Interpretation

    Evolutionary Jungian Psychology

    The Archetypes

    Evolutionary Neuropsychology and the Archetypes

    Complexes and Daimons

    The Shadow

    The Evolution of the Archetypes

    The Self and the Inexpressible One


10. The Path of Love

    Three Paths of Ascent

    History of the Ascent by Love

    Purpose of the Ascent by Love

    Awakening — The Body

    Interlude — Gaius’ Story

    Purification — The Soul

    Illumination — The Nous

    Perfection — The One

11. The Path of Truth



    Purification 1: The Purifying Virtues

    Purification 2: Dialectics

    Purification 3: The Contemplation of Nature

    Interlude — The Five Things


    Arrow Prayers and Invocation of the Name

    Four Degrees of Prayer

    Perfection — Union

12. The Path of Trust


    Different Ways to The One









Additional Reading